Hydrogen Projects

Home / Hydrogen / Hydrogen Projects
The South Australian Government has co-invested over $17 million in four green hydrogen projects.

The projects are at various stages of development to accelerate and support investment in renewable technologies in South Australia.

There are many opportunities for partnership including research and development, export and off-take infrastructure, and to invest in new hydrogen projects.

The four hydrogen projects are outlined below:

Neoen Australia Hydrogen Super hub – Crystal Brook energy park

Neoen Australia’s 50 megawatt (MW) Hydrogen Super hub planned at Crystal Brook is envisioned to be the world’s largest co-located wind, solar, battery and hydrogen facility.

Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (AGIG) – Hydrogen Park SA

AGIG’s Hydrogen Park of South Australia (HyP SA) will deliver a 1.25 MW electrolyser at the Tonsley Innovation District in Adelaide’s southern suburbs. The plant will produce hydrogen from renewable electricity, which will then be injected into the local gas distribution network.

The Hydrogen Utility™ – hydrogen and green ammonia production facility

Australian hydrogen infrastructure company The Hydrogen Utility™ (H2U) will construct a 30 MW water electrolysis plant, as well as a facility for sustainable ammonia production near Port Lincoln in South Australia.

University of South Australia – hydrogen demonstration project

The University of South Australia’s demonstration project includes hydrogen production, a hydrogen fuel cell, a flow battery, chilled water storage, and ground and roof-mounted solar photovoltaic (PV) cells. The project will cut campus emissions by 35 per cent and reduce peak demand on the grid.

Further information

The interactive hydrogen map helps investors and project developers identify potentially suitable sites in South Australia to establish hydrogen infrastructure.

Click here to access other renewable energy resources, including maps of wind, solar, wave, bioenergy and energy infrastructure to guide investment.

The Low Carbon Economy Unit in the Department for Energy and Mining serves as the key contact for investors. For further information, contact the Low Carbon Economy Unit.